New apartment?!

So here’s the thing. There’s this apartment available. I have until tomorrow morning to make the decision.

But it’s thrown me off. Because my bf and I already made this decision once, when we wrote our appreciative rejection. It was really hard at that point; I was really torn. But when I sent the email, it cemented the rejection in my mind. And a few things cleared up for me:

Like:

  • Thank goodness I don’t have to use a coin-operated, shared laundry room!!!
  • Thank goodness I don’t have to have my packages left on a concrete floor in a public walking space outside of a tiny mail slot, for anyone who lives around there (or who happens to visit it — it’s not a fenced space) to see. And take.
  • Thank goodness I don’t have to live 100 yards from the biggest radio tomorrow I’ve ever seen.

So she wrote back and said she’d decided to move out anyway. But then later she wrote back saying she’d given it a lot of thought, and would stay if we would be her roommates, and offered us a discounted price that is actually hard to refuse.

And meanwhile, my bf has thought about some of the things that had put him off about it before, and decided he’d like to give it a shot. But I’ve gone the opposite way.

The thing is:

  • The young lady seemed super nice and friendly. I think she’d be a nice roommate for us.
  • The price now can’t be beat in this entire city, frankly. No, that’s not true; I know of people in rent-controlled spaces who have been there for many years who pay a small amount for rent. But that’s the exception.
  • The location is BEAUTIFUL. It’s in the middle of a nature preserve, basically.

AND THAT’S THE PROBLEM!!!!! It’s in the middle of nowhere, within this city. So all I can think is DANGER! DANGER! Nobody can hear you scream. If I don’t catch one of the shuttles which I don’t believe run at all times each day, I would be walking, alone, for 30 minutes uphill to get home. There is even a stretch of the walk that has emergency phones every 30 feet or so. … My bf thinks this should comfort me but it does the opposite — OBVIOUSLY there have been safety issues in the past, or they wouldn’t have installed emergency phones every 30 feet!!!!!

  • She’d be a hiking partner as we walk through the woods and trails each weekend or whenever.
  • She knows everyone who lives around there by name, which is awesome.
  • She plans to organize board game nights with them, which I’d love.

But then let’s go back to the cons:

  • The lighting was shitty. Okay, so I’d be buying a lot of sun lights and such.
  • Sound transfers among the units, so we’d be hearing the toddlers nearby and THEY’D hear us practicing music, which may or may not be an issue.
  • The yoga teacher of the class where I met her warned my bf’s mom that this young lady just recently had to take out a restraining order against her violent, abusive ex. …

Back to the pros.

  • Did I mention it is a lovely area??? Lovely.

But here’s another thing in my mind:

  • If I wanted to live in the middle of the woods, I’d go back Home. I am accepting City Living here. I don’t plan to live in a City forever, but I am right now. But this wouldn’t be. It would be 30 minutes of walking secluded from City.
  • 30 minutes of walking ADDED ON to my commute to school.
  • 30 minutes of walking ADDED ON if I want to jog to the icecream shop (it wouldn’t happen; let that be clear).
  • 30 minutes of walking… and then I’d be too exhausted to do anything.
  • 30 minutes of walking… nope, I predict I’d never leave the apartment.

But my bf thinks it would motivate us to get out on the weekends and do things more. I guess because we’d feel isolated and would have to go journey for adventure? I’m concerned, to say the least. But the thing is, it had sounded pretty cool when it had first come up; why am I so against it now?

Before, I think I was seeing her friendliness and what it would be like to live with her, and the view, and thinking about how to make it work, like leaving earlier and…. yeah that doesn’t sound like me.

 

2 thoughts on “New apartment?!

  1. Of you are having this much anxiety about this particular apt now, it will only get worse. You cannot let anyone force you to live somewhere you are umcomfortable.

    And it sounds too isolated for you to be living with him. If he isolates you from the people you like to see, it will be bad for you.

    There are plenty of other options. Open yourself to other possibilities. There are some you have not thought of yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmm, looks like a really difficult decision. Perhaps by the time I’m writing you two have already made it. One thing that might not have occurred to you…. if it is a room mate situation, perhaps you’re not going to be locked into a year’s lease, so if in two months it’s really not working out, you can look again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

