FOOD, looking at blood sugar

I’m eating too much. I’m eating too expensively. My blood sugar is crashing during the night. I never know where/when/how my next meal will be, so I’m hoarding snacks (not blood-sugar-friendly ones) and eating out like crazy. This will stop as of tomorrow, which means it has to begin tonight. So here come really random lists to help me organize my brain and thoughts:

WHAT ARE GOOD DINNERS FOR BLOOD SUGAR CONTROL? (not vegan yet)

I’m reading online about blood sugar control. Apparently, carbs matter a lot. I guess that makes sense, since carbohydrates break down into glucose. I’ve never given carbs a second thought before. I’ll need to learn more about them and tracking them down and balancing how many I eat. I have been having too many blood sugar issues lately. It must stop.

Here’s a quote from diabetesforecast.org “That said, if you haven’t figured out your individual plan yet, the general guideline for most adults with diabetes is 45 to 60 grams of carbohydrate per meal, which is three to four carbohydrate choices. A snack would be around 15 to 30 grams of carbs, or one to two choices. That’s just a starting point, however. Your total carb allowance should meet your energy needs, blood glucose targets, and weight management goals.”

FREEZEABLE RECIPES:

Fill 1/2 of your plate with non-starchy vegetables.

What are non-starchy vegetables? From diabetes.org (and I’ll bold ones that I like):

  • Amaranth or Chinese spinach
  • Artichoke
  • Artichoke hearts
  • Asparagus
  • Baby corn
  • Bamboo shoots
  • Beans (green, wax, Italian)
  • Bean sprouts
  • Beets
  • Brussels sprouts
  • Broccoli
  • Cabbage (green, bok choy, Chinese)
  • Carrots
  • Cauliflower
  • Celery
  • Chayote
  • Coleslaw (packaged, no dressing)
  • Cucumber
  • Daikon
  • Eggplant
  • Greens (collard, kale, mustard, turnip)
  • Hearts of palm
  • Jicama
  • Kohlrabi
  • Leeks
  • Mushrooms
  • Okra
  • Onions
  • Pea pods
  • Peppers
  • Radishes
  • Rutabaga
  • Salad greens (chicory, endive, escarole, lettuce, romaine, spinach, arugula, radicchio, watercress)
  • Sprouts
  • Squash (cushaw, summer, crookneck, spaghetti, zucchini)
  • Sugar snap peas
  • Swiss chard
  • Tomato
  • Turnips
  • Water chestnuts
  • Yard-long beans

It happens that I like non-starchy vegetables. This is important information. Tonight is my first meal-planning night. What will I do?

I never thought I would be someone who counts carbs. But I’m damn well sure going to start. I am sick of getting suddenly weak and shaking. I’m sick of waking up drenched in sweat. I’m sick of getting scared between meals and obsessing over what the future meal will hold. This has to stop now and the only way is if I take control of this myself. I can’t rely on anybody else.

If I go to “Peter”‘s: I will eat carrots, green beans, probably chicken or pork chop (not cooked by me). I could also do brussels sprouts.
If I go home: I will eat lettuce, green beans, tofu burger. I should get a tomato and an onion for it. I could theoretically make some quinoa; I already own a dry bag of it.

Leave a Reply

