Log: Apr 25 – 27 (Sat – Mon) Happy days

Apr 25 (Sat): Tree planting with “Peter” 8:00a – 2:00p

Apr 26 (Sun): Film Festival and a Park with “Peter”

Apr 27 (Mon): Work 11:00a – 6:30p, Grocery shopping, Laundry

Bicycle tire

Bicycle tire

Saturday: This day brought tree planting with “Peter” and we worked hard. We turned out to be the only two members who showed up for the asphalt-removal team! We did not get it all done but we worked hard the whole time. It will be very satisfying to see the new plants that will be grown where these layers of asphalt have been for years.

Afterward, we went to my pharmacy to pick up my waiting prescription, and then walked to a gluten free bakery for lunch. It’s a place that I looove. After that, we went back to my uncle’s house and tried to address “Peter’s” bicycle’s flat tire. It seemed as though I had bought the wrong tube size after all, so I asked my uncle if he happened to have a patch kit. (I knew my uncle was displeased about having “Peter’s” bicycle in his garage all week and so I thought I could at least patch the holey tube and make it back to “Peter’s” city with it, and fix it there. You see, I had tried to be helpful and take care of the tube myself earlier in the week, but ended up taking apart a couple more items than needed to be removed from the bike. Then learned I didn’t have the physical strength to put the new tube on/outer tire over it. Seeing pieces of someone else’s bike in his garage was not a happy occasion for my uncle.) Hmm. My uncle was quite inebriated and quite vexed by my request. But in the end, he ended up taking over the tube replacement and determining that I’d bought the correct sized tube after all, and he put it all together for us. Whew.

We were then on our way. “Peter” and I went to his city. I wish I could remember what we did there! I think he ran a load of laundry. Man, I cannot remember.

Sunday: Hmm. I believe this is when we consulted the details of the Film Festival and we each checked off the ones we were most interested in. We had to rush a bit to eat breakfast and make it to the first film. It was a very interesting documentary. We ate out for lunch and attended another super interesting documentary. Then we went to a park and rested there for a while. I pulled out my book because “reading” had been one of my goals for the day. We read a few sections and then returned to his apartment because it had gotten dark and somewhat chilly (I had three sweatshirts on and was cold). We made dinner and were exhausted; it was already late.

Monday: Lingered too long over breakfast, which had so much variety. We did eggs with fresh, diced tomato in it, non-dairy yogurt, with some of his special jam mixed in, split an orange, had tea, and some sauerkraut, just because. One of the cats was crazy persistent in trying to snag my eggs away from me. She’d already eaten breakfast and even managed to sneak a bite of the other cat’s food. But you know cats.

So we were running later than I prefer, but we both made it to work all right. It was a busy, good day for me at work. I had lots of little tasks. Near the end of the day, a coworker gave me a task that needed to be done before I left, and had not given it to me earlier in the day because he didn’t think it would take me very long. But it involved many small numbers and I was being very cautious, so it took me a lot longer than he was expecting it would. SO in a way, it was good that I had shown up late to work, because I ended up having to stay quite late.

Then I bicycled home (OMG my legs are so tired; too much exercise lately), but made a stop at a grocery store I saw on the way. By the time I made it home, it was quite dark out. I made myself a sandwich complete with half a head of lettuce. I watched some TV with my uncle (what a horrible movie), and ran a load of laundry. I put away some of my belongings. I listened to more of my audiobook (it’s gotten really interesting). When I finally went to bed, I slept HARD. I don’t remember even having trouble falling asleep. I’m stretched kind of thin right now; I need to be more careful again this week.

(I’m tagging eczema just because I’ve been trying to deal with a particularly stubborn patch of eczema for about a week now.) Total Mood Ranking: 5-5.5-6.5

Leave a Reply

