It began with an anxiety attack

Flowering tree

Flowering tree

Well, I crashed last night. I went to bed early and fell instantly to sleep. But I also had turned off my cellphone for the first time in many months.

This morning came and I could not bring myself to turn it back on. Yesterday’s anxiety attack had begun at the moment of glancing at my cellphone so naturally I couldn’t glance at my cellphone this morning. As much as I wanted to play music from it and assure a couple of people that was in fact still alive (one of whom I was supposed to meet at 11am), I couldn’t touch it or look in its direction.

When I got out of bed, I left it off, got ready for my day, and crept upstairs to eat breakfast. *caught*. My uncle pounced and tried to grill me as to why he could hear my alarm going off for two hours and what was I thinking. Add in other stuff I’m too tired to type up but y’all know how it goes.

Okay. Bin parts of yesterday, bin parts of today (already). TOMORROW, I’ll try again. TOMORROW, I will aim for some sort of forward or at least plateaued momentum. (Hey, at least I was out of bed before 11am again.)

But I am concerned that if anxiety attacks become a norm, I’ll end up back on the Wellbutrin. I know, it’s only been 2 days of it, but enough that I’m concerned.

4 thoughts on “It began with an anxiety attack

  1. If the attacks become a frequent part of your life (I hope they don’t!), the most important thing to remember is that it’s just an anxiety/panic attack, and you’re not going to die. Many people experience horrible symptoms because they don’t come to the realization that their fight/flight response is on overdrive. Once you keep that in mind, 99% of them will be manageable and short-lived. Just a little flutter of the heart and maybe a quickie 5 second hot/cold flash and BOOM! It’s over before you know it. I know it works for me!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

