Reading Part 2: Floaters in Eye and a bonus topic

Floaters like my non-irritating ones, from site veniceeyedoctors.com

Floaters like my non-irritating ones, from site veniceeyedoctors.com

Another distraction for reading was that I have a lot of floaters in my eyes, particularly my right eye. 99% of them do not bother me. I am fine with them. In fact, I used to play games with them in elementary school. When I had insomnia for hours, I’d have my nightlight on and would “flick” my floaters all the way up and let them glide downward. FLICK, glide downward. FLICK, glide downward. I’m easily entertained. (This is prior to OCD poster counting at night.)

But one of them is not the normal type. It is a large, solid black dot about the size of the head of a nail when focused on a sheet of paper in front of me.

It is large enough and solid enough that it covers up words when I am reading sometimes. I’ve had it for literally as long as I can remember. It used to be terribly distracting because obviously it moves around on the page as my eyes are trying to read, plus it can cover up important letters or words sometimes.

Okay, BONUS TOPIC time. I didn’t know what to call this, in other words.

In middle school, my room was arranged such that if I tried to read in bed, I couldn’t see the page I was trying to read because my lamp light struck my eye in just a way that all I could see were the veins in my eye. My parents didn’t believe me. I was finally able to discuss it with an eye doctor and learn that I was not hallucinating or anything — I’m just sensitive and indeed the light can easily strike my eye in such a way that I can’t see the real world, just the blood vessels and such in my eye.

I’m having trouble locating any Internet images that show what I mean BUT YOU CAN TRY IT FOR YOURSELF. This video shows you how to see your own network of blood vessels in a small amount very easily (and starts out completely fascinating to boot):
http://gizmodo.com/5872157/freakythis-simple-trick-lets-you-see-the-blood-vessels-in-your-eye

4 thoughts on “Reading Part 2: Floaters in Eye and a bonus topic

Leave a Reply

