Poem: Gray Day

Rainy mountain lake

Rainy mountain lake


Gray mist creeps in

covering the land and shore

Rain drips onto my head

and crawls through my scalp

down my skull

down my neck

I shiver.

 

Listen to the twinkling sound of rain

hitting into the lake

clear to the blues and creams of mountain rocks lining the bottom

I look for you, squinting

eyelashes dripping water.

 

The foliage is bright green

and cheerful.

Bowing toward me as they release drops of water to the ground.

 

I can’t see beyond the walls of mountain

beyond this lake

beyond the orange and gray lichen

 

I can’t see the mountain tops from the mists and fog

And I cannot be found, either.

 

This is where I will set up my tent.

 

–innerdragon

Leave a Reply

