To self-injure or not (Journal#017) with 2 updates

Gray Autumn Tree

Gray Autumn Tree

By the time I’m here, posting, it’s already in my head and won’t go away. The choice is made. I already have the knife with me. I’m already in a private location.

I took clonazepam at least 40 minutes ago. So the anxiety has subsided. But the self hatred is still here. Maybe I can talk myself through this until I no longer feel this way.

What happened? I came home from work late. I chose to stay late, off the clock, to write the post about washing dishes. See, I wash people’s dishes as part of my job at work, so it was on my mind, and I was super excited to write that post. So instead of coming home, I stayed and wrote.

I made it home and was talking with my mom on the phone. She had questions for my uncle. He was home so I put her on FaceTime so she could ask him directly. That all seemed fine.

But then there was a little incident where she asked me if my brother knew that we’re not doing Thanksgiving until Friday. So I had the mental image of him arriving a day early, so I said hey, I’ll write him right now. So I minimized the video window and went to text him. For those of you with an iPhone, it doesn’t stop the FaceTime — you can still hear each other like a regular phone call. You just can’t see each other.

Well my uncle freaked out. I can’t repeat the words because I’ve forgotten them. But it was basically a tantrum of sorts. DON’T WRITE HIM NOW. WRITE HIM LATER. I’M TALKING WITH YOUR MOM. I froze. I wasn’t moving. I wasn’t writing him and I also wasn’t switching back over to FaceTime video screen either. It raises a stubborn bit of me and I sure as hell wasn’t going to switch back with him screaming at me and panicking. As with any animal training, you respond back in the calm times, not the enraged times. Of course, I am not a human psychologist and he did not calm down but freaked out even more, yelling at me not to write him, not to write him, stop it, why aren’t you stopping it, what is wrong with you, just do it, switch back, I have to see her in order to talk with her. He was finally just going to walk away. My reaction is basically, and meaning no offense to y’all, but Jesus Christ. Calm the fuck down and talk to me like a civilized human being. I had stopped all actions — I WASN’T writing him — I had NOT even pulled up a text window — why was he still panicking?

So basically I let the conversation go on a bit longer (I turned the video back on) and then said look, hate to cut this short, but I have to go to the bathroom. He suggested to keep my phone and continue talking with my mom but I wasn’t having that. If they wanted to chat still, they could have called each other back on their own damn phones but I wanted to go into my room and cry in the dark. I wasn’t going to keep it together much longer.

I took my clonazepam then, and kept it to just one tablet, as tempted as I was to take extra and just sleep now through tomorrow. I’d like to stay asleep for days. It did cross my mind to research if overdose is possible on clonazepam alone, which is one I haven’t researched in quite a long time.

HERE’s the real moral of this story:

When you are starting to allow yourself UP times — like the times I’ve written about with the moments of peace, of contentment, of joy, of gratitude, of bliss…. Well with that, I’ve opened myself up to a shit ton of possibilities of getting hurt emotionally. It’s like, opening the chest up slowly and the good starts to come in… But the excessive sensitivity and quickness to feel hurt is right up at the surface, too. I wonder if really it is more useful to live in a numbed state. I don’t know if I can handle the ups and the downs.

On the plus side, writing this all out has actually removed my about-to-cut status. I’m going to pee and then go to bed. I’m already in my jammies and have brushed & flossed my teeth. What more is there to life? I will certainly meditate again tonight.

**UPDATE** It’s the next day now. I just talked with my mom about it a tiny bit, because she was on the phone when it happened. She didn’t take my uncle’s reaction that seriously. She knows him better than me (they did grow up together). Most people just shrug it off. She thinks it’s possible that he freaked out because I broke his concentration when I grabbed the phone to multi-task. He’d been in the middle of talking about the upcoming menu. [At the same time, I also just learned that my brother *didn’t* know about dinner being Friday and would have changed his plane tickets had he known, and his girlfriend would have been able to come too. So he’s annoyed now. But is literally just getting onto his plane right now (and he only just now found out about the Friday dinner).] But yeah, I do feel guilty now, for having freaked out my uncle who is very ADHD and maybe did panic a little because I broke his train of thought. It’s possible. Ah well, such is life. Can’t win every day.

**UPDATE x2** I am sort of wondering, now, seeing this written out, if some of the desire to cut came from my feeling the loss of control over my own actions (where I wasn’t allowed to move or anything for a moment there). It isn’t just self-hatred — I KNOW that because I feel self-hatred over loads of different things and it doesn’t bring up the urge to self-harm. I’m going to keep my eye on this theory in the future.

7 thoughts on “To self-injure or not (Journal#017) with 2 updates

  1. I’m glad to hear that by the end of the blog posting, there was a turnaround on the decision about the knife. It sounds like you’d already been stabbed enough by your uncle’s tantrum, there was no need to chop further.
    “What is wrong with you?” is a typical mantra of the emotional controllers that I’ve heard both as a child and an adult. In this case, (most cases) the correct answer to his question would be ‘nothing, it’s you’. But it sounds like you’ve been through this so many times it’s the verbal electric cattle prod up the a**. I haven’t read all of your blog, but much of what you say echoes with many of my own feelings, and I keep wanting to suggest this website: http://www.daughtersofnarcissisticmothers.com
    and this book:

    I stumbled on an old version of this book about 6 years ago and it has been a life changer. Narcissists are not just mothers, they can be anyone, even ‘friends’.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow, thank you. I will definitely check out the link.
      He really does mean well. I’m not sure why the instant frenzied panic like that. I just froze. I didn’t move toward my phone again and still there was nothing that could stop it. I suspect, too, it’s my own lack of response that escalates things like that. I don’t think I could say, “It’s not me, it’s you.” because I don’t want to start a fight. I just want the current one to be done and gone.

      He really means the best for me. And he could tell I was upset afterward, because my face doesn’t hide things well, but he thought I was upset from not getting to write my brother. So while I was downstairs taking my clonazepam and feeding the dogs, and then petting them for a long while, he went and contacted my brother to get the information. So when I did come back up stairs, he let me know the info. I think he was trying to smooth things over. But how can I explain, with me, it’s never WHAT you said, it’s HOW you said it. If there is venom in your voice, it cuts me like a knife. I’m overly sensitive and that’s something I need to work on.

      Life with my ex was that way exactly. He could say innocent-enough things, but he put so much ANGER and venom into his voice… I would sometimes cry and the words were fine. So it didn’t make sense to him.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. People all too often assume that when any mental illness is involved, the illness is entirely to blame for anything that goes wrong bewteen people. It’s obviously not true: every interaction involves at least two people. Each person contributes to each interaction. Misunderstandings, arguments, and the like happen all the time when no illness is involved, and when there is an illness in the mix, it is only one factor among the many that can cause anger, upset, etc. People use others’ illnesses to avoid their own responsibility for unpleasnat interactions. By doing so, they avoid opportunities to learn, AND show profound unfairness.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Thanks, Greg.
      That’s food for thought.
      I do think I’d be able to handle situations like this (with anybody!) better if I could be less freaking sensitive. I don’t think most people would have frozen the way I did.

      Liked by 2 people

      • I can understand the freezing. Freezing with inner panic, not knowing how to deal with it. I suppose with 20/20 hindsight freezing and silence would be a good reaction, and when your uncle gets to the part where he’s saying ‘hello, hello’ cos he thinks you’ve gone, you say “ok, are we over the tantrum now, can we discuss whether [what you said] is a good idea?” But of course we can never quite do that at the time. I can’t anyway. The smart answers don’t occur to me until after I’ve given in.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Don’t be giving everybody else too much credit my friend, I know I’ve had mental freezes at times when the source of the stress was far less than what you just described. I froze up once in the middle of an argument and all that happened was the guy I was arguing with took off his hat, and then replaced it, but replaced it backwards. It took about ten more mins. of this thug yelling in my face before I could respond. So triggers are tricky. You don’t always see them coming. I think all-in-all, you did real well. Anyway, thanks for sharing that, and have a good evening.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

