Practice in Gratefulness (Journal#010)

Shore

Shore

I’m writing this out for my own self.

  • I am grateful for extended family that steps in to help so willingly.
  • I am grateful for parents who are willing to try anything to help.
  • I am grateful to have parents who love me.
  • I am grateful to have parents who love my dog and take such great care of him.
  • I am grateful for my aunt and uncle who cook for me, walk with me, keep me company, and more.
  • I am grateful to be able to feel sunshine so often.
  • I am grateful to be living in a household with two friendly dogs.
  • I am grateful that I have a job.
  • I am grateful that I can get to my job without driving myself.
  • I am grateful that one of the people I’m living with doesn’t mind cooking for me.
  • I am grateful to be living in an area where I can walk to anything business I want, be it a bank, grocery store, doctor, theater, anything.
  • I am grateful that I got to see the ocean this Saturday.
  • I am grateful that I have an iPhone and can take pictures.
  • I am grateful that I can share pictures from my phone.
  • I am grateful that I can write here.
  • I am grateful that anybody reads it.
  • I am grateful that I was raised to appreciate music.
  • I am grateful to be living in a time where I can find almost any music I want to listen to.
  • I am grateful to be able to avoid foods that I test allergic to.
  • I am grateful there is a plant in this office (and I’m grateful that I haven’t killed it).
  • I am grateful that my body is pretty much perfectly functional.
  • I am grateful that my hiking shoes are still holding together and that I brought them with me here.
  • I am grateful that I have warm clothes with me.
  • I am grateful to have access to Lynda.com and to have a bit of time each day, if I want, to study any software program I’d like.
  • I am grateful for having extended family nearby.
  • I am grateful that my brother gets to visit here now and then, and might even be moving here.
  • I am grateful that I have enough money to keep paying for my health insurance.
  • I am grateful that my friend is taking care of my pony even though I don’t know when I’ll ever get back to that state and I really don’t know what to do with her yet.
  • I am grateful that I have enough money left after paying health insurance to pay for my pony’s feed, dewormers and hoof trimmings.
  • I am grateful for my TaskRabbit who helps me wake up on most mornings.
  • I am grateful that my TaskRabbit is so upbeat and enthusiastic about life and tries to get me to see things that way, too.
  • I am grateful that my TaskRabbit made me go to a nearby park which is so beautiful and now I go there almost every day and take pictures.
  • I am grateful to be living in a place where there are so many other people and dogs walking around at all times of the day and night.
  • I am grateful that my anxiety levels have been pretty low lately.
  • I am grateful for all of the trees that are turning such beautiful colors and staying colorful for SO LONG.
  • I am grateful for the cactus I walk past every day, reminding me of where I now live and that I don’t need to prepare too much for the upcoming winter.
  • I am grateful for my parents who keep in touch with me and keep me updated on their lives, weather, and wildlife there.
  • I am grateful for pen and paper.
  • I am grateful for computer keyboards.
  • I am grateful that I called an old friend from high school the other day, and she introduced me to xkcd online comics, which I read every day now.
  • I am grateful for my online to-do and goals list (it’s a page up near my About page).
  • I am grateful that my bed is comfortable and I can sleep in a pile of blankets on it.
  • I am grateful for hugs.
  • I am grateful for all of you and knowing people who can understand.
  • I am grateful for all of the shops and bakeries around here that sell gluten free items (with good flavor & texture).

(I’m adding on to this as a I think of more.)

Leave a Reply

